Scientific Advisory Council

We look to the best experts to inform our care guidelines for patients and care providers. Our Scientific Advisory Council (SAC) is made up of experts in Osteoporosis and Bone Metabolism and is a volunteer membership. Comprised of clinicians, researchers and educators, the SAC advises Osteoporosis Canada’s board and staff on scientific and medical issues.

Click here to view SAC Newsletter

Stephanie Atkinson, PhD, RD McMaster University Maureen Ashe, PhD, PT University of British Columbia Marie-Claude Audet, MD, FRCPC, Laval University
Greg Berry, MDCM, FRCSC McGill University Mohit Bhandari, MD, PhD, FRCSC McMaster University
Emma Billington, MD, FRCPC, University of Calgary Robert Bleakney, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Earl Bogoch, MD, FRCSC University of Toronto
Jacques Brown, MD, FRCPC Université Laval Steven Burrell MD, FRCPC Dalhousie University Debra Butt, MSc, MD, CCFP University of Toronto
Anna Byszewski MD MEd FRCP(C) University of Ottawa Suzanne Cadarette, PhD University of Toronto B. Catharine (Cathy) Craven, BA, MD, FRCPC, MSc, CCD University of Toronto
Angela Cheung, MD, PhD, FRCPC University of Toronto David E.C. Cole, MD, PhD, FRCPC University of Toronto Michael Davidson, MD University of Manitoba
Christine M. Derzko, MD, FRCS University of Toronto Larry Dian, MD, FRCPC University of British Columbia Sid Feldman, MD, CCFP, FCFP University of Toronto
Julio Fernandes, MD, MSc, PhD, MBA, FRCSC Université de Montréal Heather Frame, MD, CCFP Winnipeg, Manitoba Lisa-Ann Fraser, MD, MSc, ABIM, FRCPC University of Western Ontario
Claudia Gagnon, MD FRCPC Université Laval Natasha K Gakhal, MD, FRCPC, MSc, University of Toronto Jenna Gibbs, PhD McGill University
Sabrina Gill, MD, MPH, FRCPC University of British Columbia Lora Giangregorio, PhD University of Waterloo David Goltzman, MD, FRCPC McGill University
Shelly Hagen, B.S.H.Ec, RD, NCMP Edmonton, AB David A. Hanley, MD, FRCPC University of Calgary Nisha Nigil Haroon MD, DipNB, DM (Endocrinology), MSc, CCD, Health Sciences North, NOSM
Dr. Thérèse Hodgson, Family Medicine Sian Iles, MD, FRCPC Dalhousie university George Ioannidis, PhD McMaster University
Susan Jaglal, PhD University of Toronto Geoffrey Johnston MD, MBA, FRCSC, FACS Saskatoon, SK Robert Josse, MD, FRCP, FRCPC, FACP, FACE University of Toronto
Angela Juby, MBChB, LRCP, LRCS, LRCPS, Dip. COE University of Alberta Stephanie Kaiser, MD, FRCPC QEII Health Sciences Centre David Kendler, MD, FRCPC, CCD University of British Columbia
Aliya Khan, MD, FRCPC, FACP McMaster University Sandra Kim, MD, FRCPC Chair, Scientific Advisory Council University of Toronto Panagiota Klentrou, PhD Brock University
Adrian Lau, MD, MScCH, FRCPC, University of Toronto Arthur N Lau, MD, MSc, FRCP(C) McMaster University William D. Leslie, MD, FRCPC University of Manitoba
Fabrice Mac-Way, MD, FRCPC, Université Laval Sharon Marr MD, FRCPC, Med McMaster University Caitlin McArthur, PhD MScPT, McMaster University
Heather McDonald-Blumer, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Laetitia Michou, MD, PhD Laval University Suzanne Morin, MD, MSc, Past Chair, Scientific Advisory Council McGill University
Tim M. Murray, MD, FRCPC SAC Emeritus University of Toronto Lynn Nash, MD, CCFP, FCFP McMaster University Wojciech P. Olszynski, MD, PhD, FRCPC, CCD University of Saskatchewan
Alexandra Papaioannou, MD, MSc, FRCPC McMaster University Irene Polidoulis, MD, CCFP, FCFP University of Toronto
Jerilynn C. Prior, MD, FRCPC University of British Columbia Linda Probyn MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Rowena Ridout, MD, MSc, FRCPC Vice Chair, University of Toronto
Joanna Sale, PhD, St. Michael’s Hospital, Toronto Prism Schneider, MD, PhD, FRCSC University of Calgary Sonia Singh MD, MHSc Vancouver, BC
Louis-Georges Ste-Marie, MD, FRCPC Université de Montréal Dr. Jenny Thain, BMed Sci, BM BS, MRCP, Western University Diane Thériault, MD, FRCPC Dartmouth, NS
Liane Tile, MD, FRCPC M Ed University of Toronto Ted Tufescu BSc, MD, FRCSC University of Manitoba Hassan Vatanparast, MD, PhD, University of Saskatchewan
Wendy E. Ward, BASc, MSc, PhD Brock University Sarah Ward, MSc, MD, FRCSC, University of Toronto (St. Michael’s Hospital) Susan Whiting, PhD University of Saskatchewan
Andy Kin On Wong, PhD University of Toronto Nese Yuksel, Pharm.D. University of Alberta