Osteoporosis Canada

Webinar: Protein and Bone Health

Bone is made up of calcium, other minerals and protein, a nutrient that is necessary for building and repairing body tissues, including bones. Protein is an important nutrient for bone health and in the prevention of osteoporosis. It gives bone its strength and flexibility and is also the big component of muscles which are crucial for mobility and in preventing falls.

Join Osteoporosis Canada for Protein and Bone Health to learn what a protein is, the role of protein and how it improves bone health, the differences with different types of protein and more.

Presenters:

Debra Butt, MSC, MD, CCFP

Shelly Hagen, B.S.H.Ec, RD, NCMP

Date: Monday, November 29, 2021

Time:

10:00 am PST
11:00 am MST
12:00 pm CST
1:00 pm EST
2:00 pm AST
2:30 pm NST

In partnership with ThinkBeef


Presenters

Debra Butt

Debra Butt

MSC, MD, CCFP

Dr. Debra Butt is an Associate Professor and Clinician Scientist in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Toronto. Dr. Butt works as a family physician at a community-based practice in Scarborough, Ontario.

Dr. Butt is a member of the Osteoporosis Canada Scientific Advisory Committee and the Guidelines Working Group for Exercises in Individuals at Risk of Fracture. Her published work includes several validation studies for various medical conditions, systematic reviews and meta-analyses in individuals at risk of fracture, and her research skills include conducting randomized clinical trials as well as research methods using large healthcare administrative databases and family physicians’ electronic medical records.


Shelly Hagen

Shelly Hagen

B.S.H.Ec, RD, NCMP

Shelly Hagen is a Registered Dietitian and currently works as an Educator in the Women’s Wellness Program at the Grey Nuns Community Hospital in Edmonton, Alberta facilitating menopause and osteoporosis group education sessions, and working one-on-one with patients to make well informed health decisions concerning menopause and osteoporosis management.

Shelly completed her Bachelor of Science in Foods and Nutrition at the University of Saskatchewan. She completed a general dietetic internship in Regina and is currently registered with the College of Dietitians of Alberta. Shelly is credentialed as a NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) through the North American Menopause Society and is also a member of Osteoporosis Canada’s Scientific Advisory Council (SAC).


Moderator

Kerry Grady

Kerry Grady

Senior Manager, Clinical and Scientific Programs

© Osteoporosis Canada, 2021
Charitable Registration No. 89551 0931 RR 0001