Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

WEBINAR: The Importance of Bone Formation for Preventing Fractures in Older Women

Tuesday, March 9, 2021
12:00 pm PST | 1:00 pm MST | 2:00 pm CST | 3:00 pm EST |  4:00 pm AST | 4:30 pm NST

Presented by:

JERILYNN PRIOR, BA, MD, FRCPC

Professor of Medicine/Endocrinology Centre for Menstrual Cycle and Ovulation Research, University of British Columbia

Moderated by:

LIZ KEHLER

Community Engagement Coordinator, BC & Alberta Region
Osteoporosis Canada

Jerilynn Prior

JERILYNN PRIOR, BA, MD, FRCPC

Professor of Medicine/Endocrinology Centre for Menstrual Cycle and Ovulation Research, University of British Columbia

Jerilynn C. Prior is Professor of Endocrinology at the University of British Columbia. She is a Michael Smith Foundation award-winning Clinician-Scientist (2019) who views women’s reproduction as a System with estradiol and progesterone balanced actions playing a key role in present well-being and decreasing women’s lifetime risks for osteoporosis, heart attack, breast and endometrial cancers.

She founded the Centre for Menstrual Cycle and Ovulation Research (CeMCOR) in 2002. Prior is internationally recognized for menstrual cycle, PCOS, perimenopause, menopause, bone and hot flush (VMS) research. Her controlled trials show progesterone decreases menopausal VMS; it may prevent osteoporosis by increasing bone formation. Prior graduated from Boston University School of Medicine in 1969, moved to Canada in 1976 and became Canadian in 1983 because of her belief in universal health care.