Osteoporosis Canada

Webinar: Make Bone Health a Priority & Reduce Your Risk of Osteoporosis

Osteoporosis is a disease that takes years to develop without any warning symptoms. Bone mass is gradually lost, making the bones weaker and more prone to fracturing or breaking. The first warning sign of osteoporosis is often a fracture.

Don’t miss our expert panel as they discuss the role of the pharmacist, nutrition and exercise to make bone health a priority and reduce your risk of osteoporosis.

Panel:

Teri Charrois, BScPharm, ACPR, MSc

Shelly Hagen, B.S.H.Ec, RD, NCMP

Panagiota (Nota) Klentrou, Professor of Kinesiology, Brock University

Date: Monday, September 20, 2021

Time:

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm PDT
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MDT/CST
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CDT
3:00 pm – 4:00 pm EDT
4:00 pm – 5:00 pm ADT
4:30 pm  – 5:30 pm NDT

Make Bone Health a Priority and Reduce Risk of OP

In Partnership with the Collings Stevens Family Foundation


Panelists

Teri Charrois

Teri Charrois

BScPharm, ACPR, MSc

Teri Charrois graduated with her BScPharm from the University of Alberta in 1997. She worked at the Grey Nuns Hospital in internal medicine for several years before completing her Master’s degree in Clinical Epidemiology in 2005. Teri then worked as a Research Associate in the Faculty of Medicine, coordinating research studies in pharmacy practice.

In 2010, Teri moved to Curtin University in Perth, Australia as a Lecturer in the School of Pharmacy. She returned to Edmonton in June 2014 and started her current position as Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Practice Innovation in the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta. Teri is finishing her Doctor of Education from the University of Calgary.

For her clinical practice, Teri works in a multidisciplinary osteoporosis clinic once a week in the Division of Rheumatology, University of Alberta and is a member of Osteoporosis Canada’s Scientific Advisory Council (SAC).


Shelly Hagen

Shelly Hagen

B.S.H.Ec, RD, NCMP

Shelly Hagen is a Registered Dietitian and currently works as an Educator in the Women’s Wellness Program at the Grey Nuns Community Hospital in Edmonton, Alberta facilitating menopause and osteoporosis group education sessions, and working one-on-one with patients to make well informed health decisions concerning menopause and osteoporosis management.

Shelly completed her Bachelor of Science in Foods and Nutrition at the University of Saskatchewan. She completed a general dietetic internship in Regina and is currently registered with the College of Dietitians of Alberta. Shelly is credentialed as a NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) through the North American Menopause Society and is also a member of Osteoporosis Canada’s Scientific Advisory Council (SAC).


Panagiota (Nota) Klentrou

Panagiota (Nota) Klentrou

Professor of Kinesiology
Brock University

Dr. Klentrou is an internationally recognized exercise and sports physiologist. Her research programme uses applied and basic science approaches to study human performance and the implications of sport training primarily in children and youth. In the last 5 years, she has focused on how sexual maturation, inflammation, adiposity exercise and nutrition affect musculoskeletal growth and development. In particular, this research is trying to identify the cellular mechanisms that explain how exercise training and dietary choices during childhood and adolescence affects skeletal development and lifelong bone health.


Moderator

Cathy Pearcy

Community Engagement Coordinator

Osteoporosis Canada

© Osteoporosis Canada, 2021
Charitable Registration No. 89551 0931 RR 0001