



# **Research Edition**

**Executive Committee:** Dr. William Leslie (Chair), Dr. Angela Cheung (Vice Chair), Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou (SAC Past Chair), Dr. Stephanie Atkinson, Dr. Sophie Jamal, Dr. Stephanie Kaiser, Dr. Brent Kvern, Dr. Suzanne Morin, Dr. Kerry Siminoski, Dr. Heather McDonald-Blumer

**Guidelines Committee:** Dr. Suzanne Morin, Dr. Bill Leslie, Dr. Jacques Brown, Dr. Angela Cheung, Dr. Anthony Hodsman, Dr. Kerry Siminoski, Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou, Dr. Sophie Jamal.

Research Committee: Dr. Angela Cheung, Dr. Stephanie Atkinson, Dr. Jane Aubin, Dr. Sophie Jamal, Dr. Lora Giangregorio, Dr. David Goltzman, Dr. David Hanley, Dr. Sophie Jamal,

Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou, Gezina Llse (COPN).

**Nominating Committee:** Dr. Stephanie Kaiser, Dr Earl Bogoch, Dr. Jacques Brown, Dr. Robert Josse, Dr. Anthony Hodsman, Dr. Suzanne Morin,

Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou.

#### STAFF SUPPORT TO SAC

Dr. Famida Jiwa Dr. Farah Samji Vice President, Operations Senior Manager



### **OC-CaMos 2009 Fellowship Award**



Osteoporosis Canada and the Canadian Multicentre Osteoporosis Study (CaMos) Fellowship Research Award was launched in April 2009 for a trainee to pursue research with CaMos.

With a shorter than usual application time period, and promotion of this award among CaMos investigators, 6 strong applications were received, reviewed and ranked by a sub-committee of the SAC Research Committee, declaring successful recipients in early July 2009.

For the 2009 competition, there were adequate funds to support two candidates:

- Lisa-Ann Fraser, Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Health Research Methodology Program, McMaster University. The CaMos Mentor is Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou from McMaster University. The research project title is; The study of Canadian women who sustain a fragility fracture to determine if a care gap is present.
- Kyle Nishiyama, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Calgary. The CaMos Mentor is Dr. Steven Boyd from University of Calgary.

The research project title is; In vivo quantification of cortical bone porosity by high-resolution peripheral quantitative computer tomography.

An OC/CaMos 2010 Fellowship Award is to be launched in March 2010. All application details are available on the OC Website.



## **OC-CIHR New Investigator Award**



The Canadian Institute for Health Research (CIHR) and OC are offering funding to support one Masters

Award for 2010 (at \$17,500 for 1 year shared equally by each partner).

Application Deadline	2010-02-01
Application Decision	2010-07-15
Funding Start Date	2010-09-01

Current research grants offered are as follows:

- Doctoral Award for \$22,000/yr for 3 years starting Sept 2008 to August 31, 2011. This was awarded to Marie—Claude Laliberte, University of Montreal
- 2008 New Investigator Award for \$60,000/yr for 5 years starting July 01, 2009 to July 01, 2014. This was awarded to Dr. Laura Targownik, University of Manitoba.
- 2008 New Investigator Award for \$60,000/yr for 5 years and may commence between July 01, 2009 to March 01, 2010. OC is listed as a partner for this award. This award will go to Dr. Suzanne Cadarette and Dr. Brent Richards.

OC would like to thank all SAC consultants who have donated to the research fund in the past. While successful partnership and SAC donations has provided funds to support current research, it is only through new collaborations that we will be successful in securing additional funds for future osteoporosis research. Please continue to support the research fund

Support from each SAC member is needed to reach our Research Fund target. "There is strength in numbers." Your annual donation counts!



# SAC Link

Osteoporosis Canada's Scientific Advisory Council

# **Research Edition**

# Targeting Osteoporosis and Fractures 2009 Best Practices Protocols Update

The Best Practices Working Group, led by Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou and Dr. Bill Leslie, convened to continue their work in developing the paper on osteoporosis risk assessment and therapies.

Project Status is as follows: The **Therapies group** continued to work on abstracting and grading articles, preparing evidence tables, and drafting evidence-based recommendations. The **Risk Assessment group** continued reviewing and comparing risk prediction models, preparing summary tables and drafting recommendations.

Members from both working groups met on Sept. 9 to 11th, 2009 in Denver in conjunction with the ASBMR annual meetings. The meetings began with a review of the AGREE criteria for guidelines. The group identified criteria that required additional efforts: a strategy for piloting guidelines among target users, ensuring recommendations are specific and unambiguous, and discussed key recommendations and tools for applications among user groups.

A meeting on Nov. 7th to 8th, 2009 has been scheduled in conjunction with the CIHR Bone Consensus meeting in Toronto. An Expert Panel group has been assembled, and will meet on Nov. 7th and 8th with the Working Group Chairs and Moderator (Dr. Brian Lentle). The goal of this meeting will be to present the evidence needed to build expert and stakeholder consensus in the preparation, finalization, and dissemination of guideline summary statements and recommendations. Confirmed Expert Panel members include representation from the College of Family Physicians of Canada, Ontario and Quebec; SOGC: Canadian Orthopedic Association: Canadian Association of Radiologists, and several SAC consultants. All SAC members are invited to join the open session of the Expert Panel meeting on Sunday morning of Nov. 8th. For more information please contact Donna Spafford at spafford.d@rogers.com or Dr. Farah Samji at fsamii@osteoporosis.ca or 416 696-2663 ext. 270

# Good News: FORTEO Reimbursement in Quebec

As of October 1st, 2009, FORTEO has been placed on the RAMQ list of medications under the "exceptional medications" category. This is the first official listing of FORTEO in Canada and will provide a mechanism for patients who fit specific criteria to access FORTEO. The listing can be found in the RAMQ website: https://www.prod.ramq.gouv.gc.ca

## Congratulations!! Bravo!!



Dr. Suzanne Morin with SAC Chair, Dr. Bill Leslie

Dr. Suzanne Morin receives 2009 Lindy Fraser Memorial Award. Each year, OC recognizes a member of the SAC with the Lindy Fraser Memorial Award. Dr. Morin was nominated by her SAC colleagues and is recognized for her valuable dedication to OC where she has served as an SAC consultant since 2005.



Dr. Jacques Brown with Quebec Premier Jean Charest Photo: François Nadeau O.N.Q.

Dr. Jacques Brown - On June 17, 2009, 34 people were admitted to one of the three ranks of Quebec's most prestigious distinction. OC is proud to announce that Dr. Jacques Brown, was recently given the honour of being admitted as a Knight of the National Order of Quebec.

## Care Gap Consensus Paper

OC has been funded to develop 2 consensus papers; a paper on **Adherence** is being led by Dr. David Kendler and a paper on **Post Fracture Care** is being led by Dr. Rick Adachi.

Both papers are researched and written to address crucial care gaps that will lead to optimizing patient outcomes in the treatment of osteoporosis in Canada. The papers will support and complement the Best Practice Guidelines currently being developed by the OC - SAC Best Practice Protocols Committee.

The first draft of the papers was presented at the Sept. 9 to 10 meetings held in Denver. The final draft is scheduled for early December. Both papers will be submitted to BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders journal.